Just Jazz Concert I Brandon Coleman

Just Jazz Concert I Brandon Coleman

Wednesday, July 13
08:30 PM - 10:30 PM

Just Jazz Presents Brandon Coleman @ Mr Musichead Gallery with Brandon Coleman (piano, keys, vocals), Ian Martin (bass), Oscar Seaton (drums), Samir El mehdaoui (guitar), Keyon Harrold (trumpet) and a very Special Guest on Saxophone!

Doors open at 7pm. Concert starts at 7:30pm. There will be a short artist interview prior to the live performance. Bar area will be open on the outdoor patio. Two drinks included with ticket purchase.
Brandon Coleman
Bending the future of sound, taking ivory and ebony to destinations unknown, is keyboard maestro, vocalist, composer, producer, arranger and astral traveler Brandon Coleman. A regular fixture with Babyface, Donald Glover, Flying Lotus, and Kamasi Washington’s band, Coleman represents a new chapter in the evolution of jazz and funk fusion.

Following the release of Resistance in 2018 via Brainfeeder, Coleman embarked on a thirty(30)-city tour supporting Flying Lotus in 2019, laying his interplanetary dance grooves down for eager audiences. This project represents a new chapter in the Funk dynasty that spans a multitude of generations and genres, and honors their ethos of freedom and experimentation in his search for Funk’s future. Coleman’s bold voice reminds us that great music can also contain fun & whimsy, no other member of the current generation has made such a strong commitment to expanding on the psychedelic grooves of decades past, and with so much finesse.

“For those accustomed to Coleman’s role laying the foundation for expansive spiritual-jazz explorations in Kamasi Washington’s band, it’s revelatory to hear him so spry on his feet and down to get down. If his work with Washington contains all the weight and gravitas of Sunday church, Coleman’s Resistance has all the fun, breeziness- and yes, sunlight- of an afternoon church picnic,” said Andy Beta of Pitchfork. At a typical Brandon Coleman show, it’s common to get the entire Sunday extravaganza.

INTELLECTUAL BLACK SPACE, which will be released later in 2021, is a cinematic Funk odyssey featuring Coleman on keyboards, keytar & vocoder accompanied by electric bass and drums. One is made to feel transported not only to another universe, but another moment in time— a joyful dance party in another galaxy.
Musichead Gallery
7420 Sunset Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA, 90046